Reviews

Highly Recommended - Rating 5/5

Stayed for an evening with the family, rooms of a good size, very friendly staff and great breakfast. Will definitely be staying there again.

Reviewer:Carl J | Tue 20th Aug 2019 | 10 months ago


Very comfortable- Rating 5/5

Nicely situatedGood helpful staffNice and traditional hotelComfy beds relaxing stayThanks

Reviewer:Geoff N | Sun 18th Aug 2019 | 10 months ago


Excellent walkijg distance from the beach - Rating 5/5

The young lady was nice and helpful and always asked if you were okay. The whole service gave a lasing response. I will be back to use this hotel and the kids loved it

Reviewer:abid i | Sat 17th Aug 2019 | 10 months ago


Good hotel - Rating 5/5

Good budget hotel, perfect for single business traveller

Reviewer:Keith V | Thu 15th Aug 2019 | 10 months ago


lovely break away - Rating 5/5

Although a little tired in places this is a great little place .a view of the sea its that close .great receptionist and a really warm welcome .and unlimited breakfast with just enough choice . It may not be the hilton but for my money it gets 5 stars

Reviewer:susan c | Wed 14th Aug 2019 | 10 months ago


Thank you everyone at Ullswater - Rating 5/5

My family and I had a great stay at UllswaterThe staff were brilliant,everything we wanted in our accommodation was providedWould definately stay there again, and recommend it

Reviewer:carole P | Sat 10th Aug 2019 | 10 months ago


Friendly for dogs - Rating 5/5

Good value for money, rooms cleanNice breakfast and very close to the sea

Reviewer:ADAM F | Tue 6th Aug 2019 | 10 months ago


Good location. - Rating 5/5

Location not far to the beach. Clean.

Reviewer:N | Tue 6th Aug 2019 | 10 months ago


Very nice - Rating 5/5

I did already leave my review about yr hotel on Booking.com, couldn t wait to do it because I only have had positive to say about it!!! 🙂 From the room, to the location, food, the staff mostly the reception one, all greatttt👍

Reviewer:Simona V | Tue 30th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Thank you ullswater - Rating 5/5

We had always been nervous about 2 or even 3 stars in Bournemouth but not this time..great loxation, friendly staff clean and comfortable room lovely breakfast defo will use the ullswater again for our weekend getaway.

Reviewer:CHRIS L | Mon 29th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Lovely hotel - Rating 5/5

Friendly helpful staff, especially Laura on reception.very close to beach.

Reviewer:Rebecca O | Sat 27th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Always a pleasure - Rating 5/5

Had a very comfortable stay. Staff friendly and polite. Self service breakfast was brilliant. Many thanks to all the staff who work there.

Reviewer:Richard S | Thu 25th Jul 2019 | 11 months ago


Brilliant- Rating 5/5

Room was large, clean and comfortable. Staff really helpful and polite and just 5 mins walk from the beach. Will defo be back . Breakfast was also really lovely. We stayed for 3 days. Thank you for a great stay.

Reviewer:Kelly W | Wed 24th Jul 2019 | 11 months ago


Nice hotel- Rating 5/5

Great location to the centre of Bournemouth. Clean, tidy and staff very helpful. Parking was very handy as well. Definitely recommend for an affordable stay close to the town

Reviewer:Matthew I | Mon 22nd Jul 2019 | 11 months ago


short break - Rating 5/5

nice room. wonderful staff. great breakfast what more can youask for.

Reviewer:ian l | Mon 22nd Jul 2019 | 11 months ago


Bournmouth trip - Rating 5/5

Very good hotel ,staff very polite, nice n clean, yummy breakfast

Reviewer:Vijay K | Mon 15th Jul 2019 | 11 months ago


Amazing Experience - Rating 5/5

We booked the hotel for a friends hen party. We had the best service you could ask for. All the staff were very helpfull, especially the young lady who worked from 3pm to 11pm. And the man who worked in the mornings. We ordered a takeaway and asked for the plates and the young lady just gave us all the plates and cutlery that we neededat 10pm :) The customer services is like in a 5* hotel. All the girls at our party were really happy with the hotel. The rooms were clean and tidy, and the location of the hotel is perfect. 10min from the beach and the town centre. Will definetly visit again and recommend to others. Thank you for making the hen party even more special :)

Reviewer:Lina B | Wed 10th Jul 2019 | 11 months ago


Comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

The staff were great, room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was perfect and set us up for the day.Thanks for a great stay, exactly what we were after.

Reviewer:Hamish F | Wed 10th Jul 2019 | 11 months ago


Great location- Rating 5/5

Friendly staff, comfortable bed and a clean room. We will be staying again

Reviewer:Stuart H | Sat 6th Jul 2019 | 11 months ago


Great value break - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome, lovely spacious, airy, bright room. Comfortable beds. Bit old fashioned but nice and clean and had homely feel. Breakfast room had just the right level of background music for a relaxed feel and plenty of good food and good tea. Excellent position short walk to clifftop with beautiful sea views. Also fairly near to bus stops. Very good value for money.

Reviewer:Ellen C | Fri 5th Jul 2019 | 11 months ago


Good value - Rating 5/5

Good clean room good value for money for room and breakfast

Reviewer:Janet D | Tue 2nd Jul 2019 | 11 months ago


Worth It - Rating 5/5

For the amount paid and the location, Ullswater Hotel is definitely worth it

Reviewer:Jacklynn C | Mon 1st Jul 2019 | 11 months ago


Excellent break - Rating 5/5

Great location, friendly staff, fresh cooked breakfast every morning, rooms and beds comfortable.

Reviewer:Anita C | Sun 30th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


Very good- Rating 5/5

Nice hotel and perfect location

Reviewer:Deepak D | Wed 26th Jun 2019 | 12 months ago


excellent stay - Rating 5/5

first time staying at this hotel, slightly shabby (bathroom tiling) but clean room but excellent for the price. the staff can't do enough for you. Intend to stay here again.

Reviewer:stuart w | Tue 25th Jun 2019 | 12 months ago


Pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

Pleasant hotel with friendly staff! Rooms clean and tidy! Plenty of choice for breakfast!

Reviewer:Janet B | Mon 24th Jun 2019 | 12 months ago


great - Rating 5/5

Wirklich sehr gutes Preis-Leistungsverhältnis. Leckeres Frühstück. Und nur 5 Minuten zum Strand und ins Zentrum. Klasse.

Reviewer:Michael W | Mon 17th Jun 2019 | 1 year ago


fantstic location, great staff- Rating 5/5

short family break, met expectation for the price - cheap and cheerful. Enormous size of the rooms. all good and recommended

Reviewer:Krzysztof W | Fri 14th Jun 2019 | 1 year ago


Fantastic staff- Rating 5/5

We came as a party of 16 (stag)The staff were very accommodating.The manager was very helpful towards a few drunken stagsThank you for a great stay

Reviewer:Mark W | Tue 11th Jun 2019 | 1 year ago


We loved our visit to the Ullswater Hotel - Rating 5/5

If you want a hotel with a warm homely feeling then you have to go to the Ullswater Hotel, all the staff are very pleasant and extremely helpful.On or visit the WI (Women's Institute) had a nation meeting at Bournemouth the hotel was full of members lots of the members had stayed many times.Do try the breakfast it is well cooked and plentiful as the boss (the Wife) said if it good for the WI members its good for me. And when the Boss say thing like that well I am happy Too.We can recommend the Ullswater Hotel, the location is very good just a short walk to the beach and a large park over looking the beach great views ideal if you have young children plus only a short walk to Bournemouth centre and the pier (beach is lovey sand and very clean.What make this hotel even more friendly is its pet friendly even has a dinning area were you can take your dog with you for breakfast How good is that.

Reviewer:David Brian P | Sat 8th Jun 2019 | 1 year ago


Great hotel - Rating 5/5

Great Hotel! Felt like home away from home. Wonderful breakfast. Very helpful and friendly staff. Stone throw from the beach! Fab location :-)

Reviewer:Eniye O | Sun 2nd Jun 2019 | 1 year ago


Nice, clean and silent place. Ideal for relax.- Rating 5/5

Nice place. Very clean. Staff is very kind. Only 5 min from sea. It was my second visit in this hotel. I will come back again.

Reviewer:Arkadiusz L | Mon 27th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Great!!! - Rating 5/5

Friendly staff, great location and very clean hotel

Reviewer:S | Sat 25th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Our stay - Rating 5/5

Charming and helpful staff. Great coffee and breakfast

Reviewer:Gillian R | Wed 22nd May 2019 | 1 year ago


Great hotel - Rating 5/5

Lovely friendly staff. We were greeted with a lovely smiling receptionist. Good value for money and a great location. First time at this hotel and will definitely return.

Reviewer:Rebecca O | Tue 21st May 2019 | 1 year ago


Great hotel - Rating 5/5

We are regular visitors to Bournemouth and have stayed in a variety of hotels. For us the Ullswater has what we need:decent bed, good shower, quiet, good and reasonable priced car parking and excellent location.On top of the above the staff are wonderful - really friendly! Breakfast is also great value for money and overall the hotel is a great value for money hotel.

Reviewer:Steve W | Mon 20th May 2019 | 1 year ago


1 night stay - Rating 5/5

Good hotel very large room perfect for a night away in bournmouth, very close to beach and restaurants

Reviewer:lesley w | Sat 18th May 2019 | 1 year ago


3 day trip to Bournemouth - Rating 5/5

good location (short distance to beach as well as to the centre), nice cosy room, perfect breakfast, wifi worked :-)) and very kind and helpful staff

Reviewer:Ludmila B | Wed 15th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Great value, terrific friendly attentive service , well situated for beach shops buses- Rating 5/5

I felt all my requests prior to committing were made which was very reassuring.Zoya and Laura are excellent managers. It made my whole journey and stay very enjoyable and relaxed.I asked for a heater as I get cold at night, one was found within the hour.I did not expect breakfast but on arrivalFound out it was included and my food requirements met.There is someone at reception all the time.Kay and Andrea were very professional efficient waitress, Rija serviced my room very cheerfully.I popped out to the beach many times as it is 5 minutes away.I was able to arrive early and wait in the very big lounge, and checked in early too.I stayed 7 days but would have stayed longer but hotel was full on Saturday night.so I moved on. The I loved the sash windows photos from 1962 in the lounge.The guests were interesting and friendly, all this made a huge positive impact on me as I was travelling alone.,was able to store my special packed lunch in kitchen fridge, as I was attending a 3 day workshop in Paris time and had to leave early.Chris the night porter dealt with the fire alarm very quickly,

Reviewer:Krysia P | Fri 10th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Great hotel for a cheap stopover- Rating 5/5

We have used this hotel twice recently and both times we have been impressedby the value for money. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. We'll be back!

Reviewer:Henny M | Thu 9th May 2019 | 1 year ago


MR & MRS - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay and the food was nice plus the staff were very helpful and polite.

Reviewer:Mr Peter H | Thu 9th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Very nice and clean hotel - Rating 5/5

Everything was perfect, clean big room, good breakfast, good location, nice staff.

Reviewer:Michaela T | Tue 7th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Ullswater Hotel - Rating 5/5

All the staff at the Ullswater were very friendly polite &professional. The room was large &comfortable. The buffet style breakfast was brilliant. Hope to return again.

Reviewer:Jon S | Mon 6th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Miluska, Prague - Rating 5/5

Very nice place, good hotel,kindly service.

Reviewer:Miluska V | Mon 6th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Great breakfast - Rating 5/5

Comfortable stay and wonderful breakfast. Thank you!

Reviewer:J | Thu 2nd May 2019 | 1 year ago


Ullswater hotel- Rating 5/5

Clean friendly quiet efficient place with first class staff

Reviewer:Robert S | Mon 29th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Weekend stay - Rating 5/5

Yes the hotel is a little bit dated, but the room was very clean the breakfast was good the staff were wonderful and the location was excellent. Would definitely recommend

Reviewer:William G | Mon 29th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Fantastic location, larger the average room, very clean, helpful and knowledgeable staff.

Reviewer:Chris W | Mon 29th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Excellent value - Rating 5/5

The hotel was clean and very comfortableeven though it was a bit tired in places. However the staff were very helpful and had good customer service skills. Breakfast was good, even though it said it was continental it was cooked breakfast(full English if you wanted it freshly cooked)which was self service

Reviewer:Richard G | Sat 27th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay in a Victorian environment- Rating 5/5

Walk through door of this hotel and you’re in a genuine Victorian environment! Even the lift is quirky the old gated type! All the staff are lovely and helpful. Special mention to Laura who organised taxis for us and was a delightful hostess as she served in the bar. The hotel was spotlessly clean and breakfast gorgeous. We’ all definitely be back!

Reviewer:Mr John M | Wed 24th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Lovely victorian hotel - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay, room was bright and clean, beds comfortable. Staff very accommodating. Breakfast is terrific. Excellent value.

Reviewer:lucy T | Tue 23rd Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Booked one family room with 2 single bed and a double bed.Room very clean and received extra connected room with 2beds for free with a family of 4.Staff are very friendly. My kids love it

Reviewer:Pelagie Laure Tchana T | Wed 17th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Highly recommend - Rating 5/5

Perfect location - 15 mins walk into town. Comfortable and clean. GREAT value for money! Lovely breakfast, friendly and helpful staff.£5 a night for parking but first come first service etc.Highly recommend.

Reviewer:Bev S | Mon 8th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Mother\'s Day get away - Rating 5/5

Good location, great value for money, very friendly hotel, would definitely come again

Reviewer:Kelly H | Sun 7th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Friendly staff and very comfy beds excellent stay

Reviewer:Mark F | Wed 3rd Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Comfortable, everything as described, good value - Rating 5/5

Stayed for a couple of nights in twin room with adult daughter.We were both very comfortable, all usual amenties provided.Good location near town and beach, though imagine the road it's on, which is mostly hotel-lad, can get very busy in high season.Parking a bit of a lottery but staff helpful.Would definitely stay here again

Reviewer:Paula W | Mon 19th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent stay - Rating 4/5

Been here before, with a coach firm. We love Bournemouth coming here once ayear for a short stay.excellent staff,fantastic breakfast,hot food is very hot!! .Our room was a little tired saying that everything was there.Nothing too much trouble with the staff from abit more milk and could they open our tonic bottles!Free parking was a bonus as well

Reviewer:Sue M | Sun 11th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Visiting for my sons graduation from Bournemouth university - Rating 4/5

Ullswater was an excellent location for beach and town. Staff very friendly and helpfulRooms were lovely and spacious

Reviewer:dawn C | Fri 9th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely hotel - Rating 4/5

Really nice hotel, friendly staff, nice warm bedroom, good breakfast, great position just a short walk to the seafront, we stayed here for one night of a three night break in which we were booked into the bigger, more expensive Durley dean around the corner but we wish we had three nights in Ullswater as its a nicer hotel

Reviewer:tina r | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Family plan - Rating 4/5

We were really comfortable and the staff were really kind

Reviewer:eva d | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


great value for money. - Rating 5/5

had a very pleasant overnight stay, the beds and pillows extremely comfy:) plenty of tea and coffee in the room. breakfast was good and served quickly, staff polite, welcoming and happy. a hotel I would return to.

Reviewer:r | Sun 21st Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

We enjoyed are over night stay in a lovely building with a lovely cosy room and lovely staff got looked after really well. Breakfast was yummy.Easy to get to the seafront and pier and town with lovely views.

Reviewer:Samantha J | Sun 7th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


great hotel - Rating 4/5

handy position. Nice room and good breakfast.Helpful staff

Reviewer:Ian H | Sun 7th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Marie - Rating 4/5

A comfortable night, friendly staff and a good location. Only criticism is that they appeared to be short staffed and the receptionist seemed to be helping in the restaurant. Thustwice we had to wait a long time at reception( well over 5 mons) for attention

Reviewer:Marie M | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Good value for money - Rating 4/5

Nice clean comfortable hotel. Very pleasant staff. Good location

Reviewer:william S | Tue 11th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Brilliant stay - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely stay staff wwere fab food and room was excellent cant wait to go back

Reviewer:sw t | Tue 28th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Good to Go ! - Rating 5/5

It was very difficult to find fault.From entering the hotel for the first time all staff were very efficient courteous &extremely pleasant.The room was clean large &very comfortable with clean crisp bedding.The breakfast was a quality full English served hot &tasty.The hotel is located close to the top of the cliffs &the wonderful beach &sea views.Many Thanks.

Reviewer:Malc C | Mon 27th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Good price, excellent friendly polite service.clean quiet location

Reviewer:Linda I | Sun 26th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Family break- Rating 4/5

We had a brilliant comfortable stay at Ullswater Hotel .Our room was in the basement with windows street level. It was very spacious. More like an apartment. Crisp white sheets , and tea making facilities.The breakfast hall was lovely. Everywhere was kept nice &the staff was so friendly.I was amazed it was only 2 star.Fabulous location too. Definitely would return.

Reviewer:Nicola H | Fri 24th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Good traditional hotel - Rating 4/5

Very good traditional hotel which is ideal for a short break. Excellent location in a quiet side road on the West Cliff, a couple of minutes walk to a small park on the cliff top and a couple more minutes down to thebeach.Tasty and satisfying full English breakfast served on properly heated plates. Like the fact that it is close enough for a seafront run (or walk) before breakfast. Breakfast and reception staff were all very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable with plenty of hot water and supplies for making drinks and the free wifi worked well. A very good position for getting around without a car. A bus to the town centre and railway station stops very nearby. It is about half a mile walk to the town too and from there are plentiful buses to Poole, Sandbanks, Christchurch, and further afield. [Get a £5 a day unlimited travel card from the bus office by Asda/station.]

Reviewer:Carole T | Tue 21st Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Nice! - Rating 5/5

I spent one night there, room for one guest. The room was very good, clean and had a good size, the bathroom exactly the same. The reception was very good, people really nice, very kind and very helpful. The location to go to the beach was good.If I come back, I will repeat!

Reviewer:Rita Alvarez M | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Nice place - Rating 4/5

Nice place, the room was clean and the staff friendly. Relation price-quality is quite good.

Reviewer:Alexis C | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Weekend away - Rating 5/5

We both thought from checking in to when we left it was an easy weekend away. Very good service at breakfast made you feel at home

Reviewer:June J | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Enjoyable stay- Rating 5/5

My wife and myself had a most enjoyable stay at the Ullswater Hotel. The breakfast was superb served in an elegant dining hall. The staff were very attentive and friendly. As we love Bournemouth and have stayed at various hotels in the town over the years I must say the Ullswater Hotel would be a place for a return visit. Talking to other guests during breakfast time I am sure they share the same thoughts with regard to the welcoming hotel staff. As an added bonus the Hotel is not too far away from the beach, lower gardens and town centre.

Reviewer:Steve B | Mon 16th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Ullswater hotel Bournemouth- Rating 4/5

Good value hotel with friendly staff a few minutes walk from the beach. Comfy beds, excellent breakfast served quickly and efficiently, would stay again.

Reviewer:Karen C | Wed 11th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


very welcoming hotel - Rating 5/5

We had the best welcome at this hotel.The receptionists were both so helpful. The hotel is a little old fashioned but the staff more than make up for this. We would happily stay again.

Reviewer:Lynn M | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Friends and careing familyowned hotell, 10 minuter walk from the beach! - Rating 5/5

Altough our stay at your lovely hotel only lasted one night, you gave us a fantastic two days experience of Bournemouth! What we liked? We especially appreciated:the warm andwelcoming attitude from the 2 girls in reception, the large room, the close distance to the breathtaking beaches of Bournemouth and the nice english breakfast you serve!

Reviewer:Oscar S | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Friday 25th May - Rating 4/5

We had a lovely, peaceful stay at the Ullswater. We were able to get into our room earlier than expected and didn't have any problem parking. The staff at the front desk were extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was comfy and clean and we would stay here again. Great location too.

Reviewer:ian t | Wed 30th May 2018 | 2 years ago


Fantastic- Rating 5/5

Great stay as normal , Laura's a wonderful host on desk . Clean rooms , comfy bed , good shower , can rate this as the best hotel in BournemouthHotel bar and food very goodKev , Emma

Reviewer:kevin d | Tue 27th Mar 2018 | 2 years ago


Recent Visit - Rating 5/5

The hotel has maintained its standard following our last visit four years ago. We were entirely satisfied.

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher R | Tue 12th Nov 2013 | 6 years ago


Book Online


Our Facilities

  • Pet Friendly
  • Safe & Secure Payment
  • Parking facilities
  • Bar
  • Family rooms
  • City centre
  • Internet services
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • City breaks
  • Walking holidays

Contact Details

Ullswater Hotel
West Cliff Gardens
Bournemouth
West Cliff
Dorset
BH2 5HW